Twitter Chef Avatar Fun: Nigella Lawson’s (Blueberry) Pancakes

Remember when I blogged about this fun new idea called ‘Twitter Chef Avatar’, way back in February and March? Nancy came up with the great idea of each of us picking a different chef for each month, all of us making anything we each selected to make from that chef’s recipes, taking a photo of our efforts, and using that photo as our avatar for that month. I somehow lost track and didn’t participate after March

This month I had a great excuse to get back into Twitter Chef Avatar: I got to pick the chef for September. I figured it would be a good idea to pick a chef of which I actually own some cookbooks. So my pick was Nigella Lawson, I actually own two of her cookbooks: ‘Hoe word ik een goddelijke huisvrouw‘ a.k.a ‘How to Be a Domestic Goddess‘ and ‘Nigella’s Kerst‘ a.k.a. ‘Nigella Christmas‘ but am ashamed to admit I hadn’t cooked from either of them until now.

I went back and forth between loads of appealling recipes in both books until I ended up picking her recipe for Pancakes from ‘Hoe word ik een goddelijke huisvrouw‘, simply because it was Sunday morning and I was in the mood for pancakes! The recipe can be found below, on page of ‘Hoe word ik een goddelijke huisvrouw‘ or here on Nigella’s website.

(Blueberry) Pancakes
from Nigella’s How word ik een goddelijke huisvrouw

225g plain flour
1 tablespoon baking powder
Pinch of salt
1 teaspoon sugar
2 large eggs, beaten
30g butter, melted and cooled
300ml milk
butter for frying

The easiest way to make these is to put all the ingredients into a blender and blitz. But if you do mix up the batter by hand in a bowl, make a well in the flour, baking powder, salt and sugar, beat in the eggs, melted butter and milk, and transfer to a jug: it’s much easier to pour the batter into the pan than to spoon it. Nigella likes to leave the batter for 20 minutes before using it; she also suggest that you may then want to add more milk to the mixture if you’re frying in the blini pan, so that it runs right to the edges.

When you cook the pancakes, all you need to remember is that when the upper side of the pancake is blistering and bubbling it’s time to cook the second side, and this needs only about 1 minute, if that.

Nigella gets 11 blini-pan-sized pancakes out of this or16 silver-dollar-sized ones on the griddle.

Nigella suggests to add blueberries to the pancakes just before they are ready to be turned over, I did this for half of the batter. I liked both pancakes, but preferred the version with the blueberries: what can I say, I love blueberries!

Here are some other Twitter Chef Avatar Fun: Nigella Lawson posts:
Kayte made Nigella’s Peach Melba

Please let me know if you posted about Twitter Avatar Fun, I will be more than happy to link to your post too!

3 Responses to “Twitter Chef Avatar Fun: Nigella Lawson’s (Blueberry) Pancakes”

  1. Kayte Says:

    These look great. I love the idea of throwing it all in a blender and giving it a whirl…and you can pour from that as well, might have to try that next time. Blueberry pancakes are truly an inspired creation…love the pop of those little berries in my mouth while eating them. Great choice and pretty avatar as well. Thanks for the Nigella choice as I had never made anything of hers before. I will try these pancakes soon.

  2. Margaret Says:

    Blender pancakes. I bet they were nice and airy. I love blueberry pancakes but never think to make them. After seeing this pic I know I need to find my blueberries in the freezer.


Leave a Reply

