Sundae Sunday (okay… Friday) – Maple Syrup Sundae

Remember the Virtual Cookie Exchange that I participated in last December? It was hosted by Di of Di’s Kitchen Notebook. Well, Di has come op with another great idea: Sundae Sunday! Since July is National Ice Cream Month, Di thought it would be fun if we all made something ice cream related: ice cream, sorbet, frozen yogurt, popsicles, gelato, hot fudge sauce, ice cream cones, anything was possible.  We were all supposed to post on the same day: Sunday July 24th. However, I experienced a bumpy road…. First my internet decided to take a vacation, second I screwed up the custard for the ice cream and third I lost the pictures of the ice cream I made….

Lisa, my friend from Canada, brought me a whole liter of Maple Syrup when she visited me last May and I thought it would be fun to make a dessert based on Maple Syrup. So, here it is!!!

Maple Syrup Sundae

The Maple Syrup Sundae made out of a base of Maple Syrup Meringue, for which I will post the recipe tomorrow. A scoop of Maple Syrup Ice Cream is added onto the meringue base, accompanied by a dollop of whipped vanilla cream and to finish it off  it’s all topped with a drizzle of maple syrup.

Maple Syrup Ice Cream
adapted from A Spoonful of Sugar
makes about 1,5 litres

3/4 cup pure maple syrup
1 1/2 cup milk
1 1/2 cup whipping cream
pinch of salt
4 large egg yolks

In a medium saucepan over moderate heat, boil the maple syrup until reduced slightly, about 5 minutes. Lower heat and stir in the milk, cream and salt. Heat until just under a boil (you will see bubbles along the edges of the saucepan). Remove from heat.

In a medium bowl, whisk the egg yolks. Slowly add a few tablespoons of the hot milk mixture into the yolks, whisking constantly until well combined. Add the yolks back to the rest of the milk, whisking constantly. Cook the mixture over medium-low heat until thick enough to coat the back of a spoon. Be careful that it doesn’t boil. Strain the mixture through a sieve into a bowl.

Chill until at room temperature, then put into the freezer. After 1 to 2 hours remove the mixture from freezer and stir well, put back into the freezer and let it set.

8 Responses to “Sundae Sunday (okay… Friday) – Maple Syrup Sundae”

  1. gaaarp Says:

    Better late than never, especially when it looks that good! Nice post!

  2. teaandscones Says:

    This looks like it would be absolutely DELICIOUS!! Nice one, Marthe!!!

  3. Kayte Says:

    Looks good, Marthe!

  4. Di Says:

    I don’t make nearly enough things with maple syrup. =) That looks delicious!

  5. Maple Syrup Meringues « The Baking Bluefinger Says:

    […] I have loved meringues for as long as I can remember: the way it melts as soon as you take a bite…. delicious! Whenever I see them in a bakery, I am tempted to buy them. However, I had never made them myself. As I found out last week, they are extremely easy to make!  You can pipe them as big or small as you want, or even in a circle (see picture below) like I did to use as a base for my Maple Syrup Sundae. […]

  6. Elaine Says:

    I can’t help but think that this would be absolutely divine with a warm slice of apple pie!

  7. Margaret Murph.y Tripp Says:

    Looks delicious and here in New England, real maple syrup is easy to find and we adore it. Great idea! And very nice to find your blog through Di’s Sundae Roundup!

  8. Mike Dunlap Says:

    Well that’s just the most unique dessert…. Love it! So glad you were a part of the social….so neat to see all the creativity!


Leave a Reply

