CEiMB – Spicy Egg and Avocado Wrap (my pick!)

This week it was my turn to pick a recipe for the lovely group of ladies that cook along with Craving Ellie in My Belly (or bake, depending on the recipe that is chosen). Since the weather here has been quite good the last couple of days I wasn’t in the mood to spend a lot of time in the kitchen and so I decided to pick something easy.

I still had some recipes bookmarked from when I got to pick a recipe last time and I soon found something that sounded completely right to me: Spicy Egg and Avocado Wrap on page 31 of So Easy. I understand these wraps were supposed to be a breakfast meal, but I paired one wrap with a lovely salad and called it dinner. I loved the kick that the Thai chili sauce added to the wrap.


Go visit the other ladies of CEiMB here and see what they thought of the wraps. It looks like June will be a tasty month, want to join in on the fun? You’re always welcome!!!!

Spicy Egg and Avocado Wrap
makes 4 servings (serving size 1 wrap)

8 large eggs
4 large red-leaf lettuce leaves (I used iceberg lettuce)
4 whole-wheat wrap breads (about 9 inches in diameter)
1 avocado, pitted, peeled, sliced
1 medium tomato (about 4 ounces), sliced
1/8 English cucumber, thinly sliced
1 tablespoon prepared Thai chili sauce or hot sauce, divided
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper

Place the eggs in a 4-quart saucepan. Cover with water, bring to a boil, reduce the heat, and simmer for 9 minutes. Remove from the heat, rinse with cold water, and peel. Remove the yolks from 4 eggs and discard the yolks. Slice the remaining egg whites and whole eggs into 1/4-inch slices.

Lay a lettuce leaf over the center of each wrap bread. Top with the avocado, sliced eggs, tomato, and cucumber. Sprinkle with the chili sauce and season with the salt and pepper. Fold one side of the bread about 2 inches over the filling to form a pocket and roll into a wrap. Eat immediately or cover in foil and store in the refrigerator for up to 1 day.

8 Responses to “CEiMB – Spicy Egg and Avocado Wrap (my pick!)”

  1. Liz Says:

    Thanks for posting the recipe, Marthe! My books are all in storage right now, including my beloved cookbooks, and I wasn’t able to find this recipe online. Hopefully I’ll get it made for lunch one day this week because it really does look good. Great choice!

  2. Mary Says:

    I need to make this one! It looks great- nice pick.

  3. peggy Says:

    This was a great pick Marthe. Loved it. I forgot to put the hot sauce on mine tho!

  4. Joanne Says:

    Sorry I couldn’t do this one Marthe. The texture combo of avacado and egg just didn’t work for me. Also, I did my shopping before you posted the recipe and didn’t have anything on hand to substitute. Sorry I missed it.

  5. Mary Says:

    I missed the last few CEIMB recipes…I made them and never posted about them. I am having trouble keeping up with FFWD and TWD so I think I have to drop out of CEIMB. I will still check out the blogroll and follow your progress along. Thanks for organizing all of this!


Leave a Reply

