Asparagus Soup

Asparagus Season is here again and I’m glad it is! I love asparagus, both the white and green variety. Unlike the green Asparagus the white version needs to be peeled. I bought some Asparagus at a farm and was offered some odd ends and bits of Asparagus for making soup, ofcourse I accepted! I peeled the regular Asparagus before boiling them to make them as they are traditionally served here in the Netherlands: with boiled eggs and ham (and sometimes a butter sauce) and saved the uncooked peels for the Asparagus soup.

So when I got my wisdom tooth pulled I decided on making Asparagus Soup since I probably wouldn’t be able to eat solids for a while. This was the first time I made my own Asparagus Soup and I was surprised how easy it was, I will definitely make it again!

Asparagus Soup (3 servings)
40 grams butter
40 grams flour
1 liter aspergebroth (made by boiling the asparagus peels)
pieces boiled asparagus
1/2 stock cube 
(beef of vegetable)
1 egg yolk
1 dl milk of 1/2 dl creamnutmeg (to taste)

Boil asparagus peels, sieve out the peels. Save the Asparagus broth and discard the peels

Make a roux out of the butter, flour and asparagus soup: melt the butter and add all the flour before the butter colors. Stir with a wooden spoon until you have a paste. Keep stiring and ‘cook’  the flour for a couple of minutes. Slowly add the broth, bit by bit. After each addition, keep stirring to avoid lumps. Once the fluids are absorbed into a smooth mixture and the mixture starts too boil, add some more and keep stirring. After adding all the broth,  add the stock cube and bring to a boil. Then turn off the heat.

In a small bowl beat together the egg yolk with the milk (or cream) and nutmeg, while whisking add a  soup ladle of soup to the egg mixture (this has to happen at least 5 minutes after turning the heat off under the soup!!). While stirring add the egg/soup mixture back into the soup, add  pieces of Asparagus and reheat.

Enjoy!!!

Leave a Reply

