>CEiMB: Black Bean Mexican Pizza

>

This weeks CEiMB has sent me looking all over town for one special ingredient… Black beans! Joanne of Apple Crumbles picked Black Bean Mexican Pizza, since I love both Mexican food and Pizza I knew I was in for a treat!

Apparently black beans are not eaten a lot in the Northern European cuisine. I wasn’t able to track these down at the regular supermarket and even the Turkish supermarket that I go to for ‘special ingredients’ didn’t have any canned black beans, just dried black beans so that’s what I bought. I soaked about 200 grams of beans in some water overnight and cooked them for about 30 to 40 minutes the next day after which I made the black bean dip.

I topped each tortilla with black bean dip, tomato pieces and some grated cheese and popped them into the oven. When they were done I topped them with cilantro and lettuce and servedthem with sour cream. Yum!! Absolutely delicious, I will absolutely be making these again!!!
Go here to check out what the other Ellie-istas thought of this recipe!
P.S. I just now found out that I screwed up the dates for the recipes, this was actually last weeks recipe… Oops….

4 Responses to “>CEiMB: Black Bean Mexican Pizza”

  1. AppleC Says:

    >Your photo is great! It looks so good. Glad you were able to find the beans…I think I would have substituted with any other bean I could find.Thanks for your comments and cooking along. Doesn't matter that it was a week late..I always check twice because I mix the weeks up as well.

  2. Imafoodblog Says:

    >Your pizza looks wonderful! That is so weird that you couldn't find black beans, they are everywhere in the States. Great job, glad you got to make this one. -sara

  3. margot Says:

    >That looks delicious! I love Mexican food, but try not to cook it too often since it's not too healthy; yay for healthier option!

  4. lavienouveau Says:

    >this looks fantastic! 🙂


Leave a Reply

