>TWD: Kugelhopf

>

Another week, another Tuesday: time for sweets!! I must say that Tuesday has become my favourite day of the week since I joined TWD. This week we all baked Kugelhopf (pages 61-63 of Baking: From my Home to Yours by Dorie Greenspan). This recipe was picked by Yolanda of The All-Purpose Girl and can be found here.

I started off deciding I would make miniature bundtcakes: I couldn’t find a Kugelhopf-pan here Then I used 1/6 cup of raisins and 1/6 cup of cranberries and let them sit in 1/3 cup of cinnamon liquor over night. I also used some cinnamon-sugar I had leftover instead of the regular sugar.

Since I don’t own a stand-mixer (still at the top of my wish-list, but I don’t Santa will be that generous this year) I had to mix this with my hand-held mixer….. Unfortunately there was no way the dough wanted to climb up the hook…,. After 20 minutes my mixer started to get really warm and I called it quits.

I added the raisins and cranberries to half of the dough and 1/3 cup of mini chocolate chips to the other half. The first rising didn’t take long: about 75 minutes instead of the 90 minutes indicated. After deflating the dough I popped them into the fridge overnight.

The second rise only needed about two hours. Then I baked them for 10 minutes, covered them loosely with foil and baked for another ten minutes. They even continued rising while baking…. I must have done something right!!


My kitchen smells delicious: cinnamon is divine to bake with, but so is chocolate!! Yum… Now for the taste of the miniature Kugelhopf….. The chocolate one was a bit dry to my taste and could have used a bit more flavour/sweetnes, but it was still delicious. The raisin/cranberry Kugelhopf was amazing: nice and moist and a hint of cinnamon.


However I don’t know if I’ll be making Kugelhopf again: I found the whole process to be quite time-consuming! Be sure to check out what the other TWD-ers cooked up this week!!

Posted in Cake, TWD. 16 Comments »

16 Responses to “>TWD: Kugelhopf”

  1. Liliana Says:

    >Marthe, your mini Kugelhopfs looks amazing and I am sure they just as delicious. Next time I will use smaller molds.

  2. The Food Librarian Says:

    >These are just too cute! I love them all!

  3. MacDuff Says:

    >These look amazing, and the cinnamon liquor idea is killer! Good job. Even if you don’t make them again, you can at least count these as a success.

  4. leanne Says:

    >I love your mini Kugelhopfs. I had quite a bit of trouble getting my dough to climb as well. I bake mine tonight and I am keeping my fingers crossed.

  5. Judy Says:

    >Soaking the fruit in cinnamon liquor sounds really delicious. Yours look very tasty.

  6. HoneyB Says:

    >The cinnamon one sounds nice!

  7. Carol Peterman Says:

    >Cinnamon liqure soaked raisins- very nice! Your Kugelhopf looks wonderful and I can almost smell that delicious cinnamon.

  8. Steph Says:

    >I like the sound of cinnamon sugar! I love Tuesdays too!

  9. CB Says:

    >Your mini bundts are so adorable! Maybe I would have liked the recipe if looked like your mini cuteness! 😉 Glad you enjoyed the recipe!Clara @ iheartfood4thought

  10. pinkstripes Says:

    >Your mini-kugelhopfs look great. YUM!

  11. Natashya Says:

    >Well they look adorable! I hope santa grants your wishes this Christmas.

  12. Jacque Says:

    >I would have to agree with you about not being sure I’ll bake it again. It was interesting, though. Your cinnamon version sounds delicious!

  13. Liz Says:

    >I’ve decided I definitely like the looks of the mini kugelhopf better than the full-sized versions. I think that soaking the berries in cinnamon liqueur is a genius idea!

  14. Eunice Says:

    >Marthe wow those are toooo cute! I love them. You’ve got gorgeous pictures on here, darlin!

  15. AmyRuth Says:

    >Kute Kugelhopf’s and by hand. Whoa!!!Great Work.AmyRuth


Leave a Reply

