Virtual Cookie Exchange: Chocolate Munchies

Two weeks ago I went to a book market with my BF. In advance I limited myself to buying only one regular book and one cookbook, otherwise I would have probably come home with a truckload of books and an empty bank account. I had already picked up a copy of  La Maison du Chocolat: Timeless Classics with a Twist. I had visited one of the shops of La Maison du Chocolat in Paris last August and now wanted this book. The book has wonderful recipes, paired with amazing pictures.

As we strolled past the other stalls at the bookmarket, my BF pointed out The Golden Book of Cookies to me, although the book looked great I explained to him that I had given myself a purchase limit. E. then decided he would buy this book for me. Ofcourse I had to let him pick a recipe to try from the book, which I was happy to :) E. decided on the Chocolate Munchies.

The Munchies are absolutely delicious, both E. and my dad approved of them. I want to submit these Chocolate Munchies the second annual virtual cookie exchange hosted by Di of Di’s Kitchen Notebook. Be sure to check out the roundup of everyone’s treats, which will probably be on there around 11 December. 

 

Chocolate Munchies
from The Golden Book of Cookies
makes 25 – 30 cookies

1 cup all purpose flour
2 tbsp unsweetened cocoa powder
1 tsp baking powder
1/4 tsp cinnamon
1/8 tsp salt
1/2 cup butter, softened
1 large egg yolk
2 oz semisweet chocolate, coarsely chopped

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit. place parchment paper on your cookie sheet.

In a small bowlmix together the all purpose flour, unsweetened cocoa powder, baking powder, cinnamon and salt.Cream the butter and sugar in a large bowl, add the egg yolk beating until just blended. Mix in the dry ingredients.

Drop teaspoons of cookie dough on the cookie sheet  and bake them for 12-15 minutes. Let the cookies cool completely.

Melt the chopped chocolate au bain marie and drizzle the melted chocolate over the cookies. Let the chocolate set.

Enjoy!

7 Responses to “Virtual Cookie Exchange: Chocolate Munchies”

  1. Elaine Says:

    I am the same way at a book store. I have to set limits! Your choice of cookie is a perfect one for a chocoholic like myself. I really like that there is cinnamon in them because it really brings out the chocolate taste.

  2. mike Says:

    LOVE the name of these – how fun! And they look delicious – I’m the same way in an antique store or flea market on vintage baking books… hold me back! What a great submission for the Exchange – Happy Holidays!

  3. Jessica Says:

    I have problems with cookbook consumption too (hello, that’s why I named my blog cookbookhabit). What a lovely BF to help you exceed your limit! And the cookies look delicious too.

  4. Simone Says:

    For some reason I never really bake cookies, except for work (isn’t that funny..lol) but these look lovely. And I so know what you mean with setting limits. I have to get better at sticking to my limits though as that is usually the problem!

  5. Di Says:

    Yummy! That was really sweet of E to buy you the book. =)

  6. peggy Says:

    Marthe, thank you so much for the Christmas card! It was a nice surprise. I hope you have a wonderful Christmas and happy new year.

  7. Leslie Says:

    Yummy! Love chocolate cookies! And Maison du Chocolat, so I’m going to have to check out the cookbook you picked up.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

