Zebra Pastel Cake

Towards the end of March I started dating E. As dating turned into a relationship, both E.’s parents and my parents kept asking when they would meet me/E. So, E. and I decided we would meet eachothers parents during the Easter weekend.

Ofcourse I couldn’t turn up empty handed, so I decided I would bring a cake and turned to my bookmarked recipes. I soon decided on making a Zebra Cake, because I loved the pattern: it looked like a fun cake. Usually a Zebra Cake is made by making a batter, dividing the batter into half and adding cocoa to one half and adding alternating spoonfuls of the two batters. But I also saw this Rainbow Cake and decided to change it up a bit. I divided my batter into 3 portions, added some pureed raspberries to one batch and some pureed blueberries to the other batch.

The cake can be served topped with a dollop of whipped cream and a strawberry, but is also quite delicious served on it’s own.

Pastel Zebra Cake
adapted from Baking Bites
4 large eggs
1 cup sugar
1 cup milk (low fat is fine)
1 cup vegetable oil
1 tsp vanilla extract
2 cups all purpose flour
1 tbsp baking powder
1/4 tsp salt
pureed blueberries
pureed raspberries

Preheat oven to 350F. Line a 9-inch round cake pan with a circle of parchment paper and lightly grease the bottom and sides of the pan.

In a large bowl, mix together eggs and sugar until mixture is light and creamy and the sugar has mostly been dissolved. Stir in milk, vegetable oil and vanilla extract.

In a medium bowl, whisk together flour, baking powder and salt. Pour into wet ingredients and whisk to combine. Divide batter equally into three portions, add some pureed raspberries to one batch and some pureed blueberries to another batch.

Put 3 tbsp of blueberry batter into the center of the pan and let it spread slightly on its own. Put 3 tbsp of raspberry batter in the center of the blueberry. It will push out the other batter and, as it sits for a moment, will also spread itself. Then put 3 tbps of vanilla batter into the center of the raspberry. Alternating spoonfuls of the three batters, repeat the technique until all the batter has been used up.

Bake for 38-42 minutes, until the cake is light gold and a tester inserted into the center of the cake comes out clean.
Let the cake cool in the pan for 10-15 minutes, then turn out the cake and remove the parchment paper. Reinvert on to a wire rack and let cool before slicing.

Serves 10.

10 Responses to “Zebra Pastel Cake”

  1. Di Says:

    I love the way that looks! I really need to try making one of these. I bet the girls would enjoy helping.

  2. Margaret Says:

    I have seen these before made with chocolate. This is really over the top. One day I WILL try my hand at this one. Nice job!!

  3. Liz Says:

    What a beautiful cake! And congrats on the new relationship :D

  4. Chaya Says:

    This is a stunner. I have to make this, some time soon.

  5. Peggy Says:

    They had to be most impressed with this, as I am! Beautiful cake. Glad that you are happy and making fun stuff!!!

  6. ap269 Says:

    Oh, yum! This one looks soooo delicious, and I imagine it must have had a very fruity touch. Will make this for my little girl’s birthday party with her friends!!!!!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

